Richie Furay - In The Country

Regular price £10.00 Save £-10.00
Catalogue Number 4050538687439
Format LP
Release Date 08/07/2022
2 in stock

Product Description

His first studio album in seven years, Furay has filled In the Country with songs that he has loved and admired over the years. The twelve-song set features his masterful versions of such chart-topping country classics as “The River” (Garth Brooks), “I’m In a Hurry and I Don’t Know Why” (Alabama), and “I Hope You Dance” (Lee Ann Womack). Also included are the crossover hits
“Take Me Home, Country Roads” (John Denver) and “Walking in Memphis” (Marc Cohn), as well as Rickie Nelson’s 1958 smash “Lonesome Town” and the Julie Miller-penned Americana gem “Chalk.” Plus, there are two exclusive digital bonus tracks: Furay’s new rendition of Poco’s signature song “Pickin’ Up the Pieces.” and George Strait’s hit, “I Cross My Heart.” Special guest appearances include John Berry, who duets with Furay on his hit “Your Love Amazes Me,” while country superstar Vince Gill joined Furay on “Lonesome Town.” In The Country also features Jason Scheff (Chicago) and Furay’s fellow Poco alum and Eagles bassist/vocalist Timothy B. Schmit. After an astonishing 60-year career in music that included pivotal positions in Buffalo Springfield, Poco, the Souther-Hillman-Furay Band, as well as several solo albums, Richie Furay feels In the Country represents something particularly special. “I believe that there is always a reason for everything,” he confides. “And I believe that the timing for this record is going to be so refreshing for so many people who have struggled so much with what we’ve gone through that it’s going to be a breath of fresh air for everybody.”
Read More