Funkadelic - The Electric Spanking of War Babies (Green Fluorescent Vinyl)

Regular price £29.00 Save £-29.00
Catalogue Number CHLP3482C
Format LP (Colour)
Release Date 03/02/2023
1 in stock

Product Description

Released in 1981& the last in a decade-long run of Top 50 R&B albums, ‘The Electric Spanking Of War Babies’ was the band’s twelfth studio LP & featured several players new to the Funkadelic line-up, notably Sly Stone. With its allusions to the Vietnam War & US imperialism, George Clinton’s project was destined to court controversy from the start, not least for its uncompromising sleeve
art which original label Warner Bros. censored. Described by Robert Christgau as “the solidest, weirdest chunk of P-Funk since one nation gathered under a groove” & originally conceived as a double LP, many tracks saw release on Clinton’s later P-Funk projects. Arguably, it is better for having been précised down to a single album while still spawning two hit singles, the title track (US R&B No. 60) & ‘Shockwaves’ (US R&B No.53). FUNKADELIC Masterminded by the larger-than-life figure of George Clinton, Funkadelic was a key component of his influential P-Funk empire. Funkadelic’s unique combination of Rock, Psychedelia, R&B & Soul led to the band crossing over to the pop mainstream & gaining a vast international following, becoming one of the most important & influential groups in music. On 6 May 1997, Parliament / Funkadelic were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame by Prince. To commemorate six decades of thrilling & delighting fans, George Clinton returned to the stage in 2022 for a series of concerts. To celebrate, Charly have reissued Funkadelic’s classic four albums ‘Hardcore Jollies’; ‘One Nation Under A Groove’; ‘Uncle Jam Wants You’; & ‘The Electric Spanking Of War Babies’ (originally released by Warner Bros during a golden period for the band between 1976-1981). Each album will be available as deluxe gatefold Digi-Sleeve CDs in PVC wallets + obi-strip & facsimile-edition gatefold LPs on 180-gram black vinyl & limited edition 180-gram colored vinyl + 1970s-style obi-strip in a protective PVC sleeve. “They played a HUGE role in creating the future of music.” PRINCE Tracklisting 1. The Electric Spanking of War Babies 2. Electro-Cuties 3. Funk Gets Stronger, Pt. 1 4. Brettino’s Bounce 5. Funk Gets Stronger (Killer Millimeter Longer Version) / She Loves You 6. Shockwaves 7. Oh, I 8. Icka Prick
Read More