Nature Sounds

Weldon Irvine - The Sisters

Regular price $37.00 Save $-37.00
Catalogue Number NSD808LP
Format LP
Release Date 24/02/2023
2 in stock

Product Description

Keyboardist and composer Weldon Irvine is among the most celebrated Jazz-Funk artists of all time. A longtime bandleader for Nina Simone, he wrote the lyrics for Simone's iconic civil rights anthem "To Be Young, Gifted and Black". Throughout the 1970s, Irvine released a series of seminal albums full of deep, soulful, funky grooves, many of which were later mined for samples. The Sisters is a
collection of lost tracks and demos from his late-1970s studio sessions with fellow JazzFunk luminary Don Blackman. Featuring the hit single “Morning Sunrise” (later famously sampled on Jay-Z’s “Dear Summer”), the album contains a potent mix of instrumental and vocal tracks that stand up with the best work in Irvine’s impressive catalog. A1. The Sisters A2. Nursery Rhyme Song A3. Think I’ll Stay A While A4. Misty Dawn A5. Morning Sunrise B1. Shopping B2. It’s Funky B3. Sexy Eyes B4. Egypt B5. Heard It All Before B6. Blue In Green
Read More