Rusty (Elvis Costello) - The Resurrection Of Rust

Regular price £28.00 Save £-28.00
Catalogue Number EMIVST 2065
Format LP
Release Date 05/08/2022
1 in stock

Product Description

Elvis Costello and Allan Mayes Reunite for Rusty: ‘The Resurrection of Rust’ The Debut Recording Of Their 1972 Band. Elvis Costello and his partner in his first band Rusty, Allan Mayes, have reunited for, as Costello puts it, “the record we would have cut when we were 18, if anyone had let us." Costello - then, D.P. MacManus - joined Mayes’ band Rusty on New
Year's Day 1972, and while for the next twelve months they played dozens of gigs, from almost deserted clubs to one of Liverpool's most beautiful Victorian recital halls and even ventured into the unknown lands, near Widnes, they never made it to the recording studio.‘The Resurrection of Rust’ comprises newly recorded renditions of six songs drawn from Rusty’s 1972 set lists: duets on two 1972, Nick Lowe tunes, “Surrender To The Rhythm” and “Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love,” Kentucky songwriter Jim Ford’s “I’m Ahead If I Can Quit While I’m Behind,” and two originals; “Warm House” (written by D.P. MacManus" in 1971) and “Maureen and Sam" (a musical collaboration by Mayes and MacManus) and, finally, an arrangement incorporating the Neil Young songs “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” and “Dance, Dance, Dance", the latter witnessing Costello's debut on the electric violin.
Read More